## **VICARS OF TEBAY**

St. James' Church was consecrated on 20<sup>th</sup> July 1880 and the churchyard licensed for burials in August 1881. In 1882 Revd AJ Wright from Lichfield Theological College was offered the living, but he declined it.

Thus the first Vicar was Rev Edward Oerton, previously assistant curate of Derby St James'. He was instituted in May  $2^{nd}$  1882 and took up residence on June  $6^{th}$ . He stayed until 1895.

The second Vicar from March 1896 was Revd AE Palin. He had a BA from Durham and the London College of Divinity. He had previously held curacies at Maryport, Scotby, Workington St John and Stanwix. He stayed until 1901.

## Subsequent Vicars were:

1901-1906 Revd John William Hartley. He was deaconed in 1890 & priested in 1891. He gained a 3<sup>rd</sup> Class Classics Degree at Cambridge in 1884 and an MA in 1919. He served curacies at Arlecdon from 1890 to 1892 & Workington St. John from 1892 to 1901. He left Tebay to be Vicar of Whitehaven St James' where he died in post on 4<sup>th</sup> July 1930 after a 2 month illness.

He was buried on 4<sup>th</sup> July 1930 in Grave 5G28 of Whitehaven Cemetery. His gravestone was paid for from the surplus in the fund of donations which paid for his memorial window at Whitehaven St. James'.

1906-1913 Revd RWA Eckroyd

1914-1918 Revd J Whitmore

1918-1923 Revd JW Dixon

1923-1937 Revd HH Sanford

1938-1946 Revd G Henderson

1947-1948 Revd HR Johnson

1949-1951 Revd WW Greenwood

1951-1956 Revd FS Makinson

1956-1962 Revd JS Speakman

1963-1969 Revd HBL Brierly

1970-1977 Revd Arthur R Aird- the last Vicar

1977-1981 Vicar of Tebay with Orton-Revd Harold Sawrey

1981 onwards Parish of Orton, Tebay, Ravenstonedale & Newbiggin-on-Lune- Canon Norman Scott then Fr Tony Dalton (who left to be an Army Chaplain),

Subsequently & currently in 2014 the High Westmorland Parish when Shap and Bampton were added, initially under Revd Carole Marsden, and then (and currently in 2014)

Revd Beverley Lock