MORESBY Incumbents

Taken from 'A History of the Churches of the Rural Deanery of Whitehaven' by Ceasar Caine, 1916

1466 Roger Blakburn 1835-1875 Fletcher Woodhouse

1535 Charles Martingall or Martindale 1875 William Baillie Wallace

1585 Thomas Calvert 1879 Albert Warris

1583 Thomas Brownrigg 1896 EA Seymour Scott

1616-death in 1617 Robert Mandeville 1897 Hubert John Allen

1618-1629 Robert Fogg

1629 Thomas Ashton

-1631 William Lindall

1631 Edward Fletcher (deprived)¹

1654 James Thompson

1670 Ralph Calvert

1711-death in June 1720 Francis Yates²

1720 Peter Farish

1728-1734 Francis Yates³

1734-death on 13 Mar 1754 aged 48 Peter Richardson

1754 William Watts

1789-death on 17 Mar 1812 aged 56 Henry Nicholson

1812 Henry Lowther

1813- death on 18th May 1821 Richard Armitstead⁴

30 Sep 1821-1823 Andrew Huddleston⁶³

1823 George Wilkinson

1829-1833 John Wordsworth⁵

1833 WH Leech

¹ And Distington in plurality

_

² Also Whitehaven St Nicholas in plurality

³ Son of Francis Yates at Moresby 1711-1720; also Whitehaven St Nicholas in plurality

⁴ Also Whitehaven St James in plurality

⁵ Brother of the poet