BUTTERMERE-Incumbents

c1749 John Steble	1892 Henry Robert Dunlop St Bees College
c1753 J Simpson	1897 George AB Chamberlain MA Cantab
1753 W Wilson	1898 William Copeland, St Johns Coll, Highbury
1756 W Lancaster	1902 Alfred John Knight
1759 C Gaskarth	1909 Jeremiah Irwin
1761 W Blennerhasseth	1926 George Aidan K Hervey MA Oxon
1762 R Brockbank	1931 Geoffrey Norman Orme MA Oxon ²
1764 A Birket	1935 John Tudway Pedder MA Oxon
1767 J Messenger	1948 Geoffrey Howard White, Kelham College ³
1768 J Atkinson	1974 Robert Lindsay, MA Dunelm
1769 J Henderson	
1772 P Wilson	Vicars of the United Benefice of Lorton,
1774 T Atkinson	Loweswater & Buttermere 1981 David Edwards
1776 J Bacon	
1777 J Wood	1988 Michael Royce Braithwaite
1780 J Clarke	1999 David John Ella 2004-2013 Margaret Jenkinson
1784 J Jackson	
1787 J Wilkinson	2 nd September 2014- Sheila Hughes ⁴
1789 W Hutchinson	
1799 J Wood	
1802 T Westmorland	
1839 James Bush	
1843 JM Woodmason	
1873 Arthur Monier Williams, St Aidans Coll	
1882 Simmonds Attlee MA Cantab ¹	
	2

¹ There is an East Window to his wife who went to Israel as a Missionary in 1890 and died at Bethlehem on 4/2/1892 aged 59

² The famous entrance Wrought Iron Shepherd's Entrance Gate is a memorial to him

³ From 1962 Vicar of the United Benefice of

Buttermere with Loweswater

⁴ Source- Benefice Magazine July/August 2014