Asby Parish Clergy

This information has been kindly provided by John Smith from his book on Asby Parish.

Before 1170 'Robert the Priest'

Before 1200 'Richard the cleric'

c.1200 'Adam, Parson de Askeby'

1280-1284 (At least) Adam le Fraunceys.

Named in The Assize Roll for Westmorland, 1280-1284 as 'Parson of Church of Askeby'.

Before 1298 Richard le Englishe.

1298-1319 William de Brampton.

1319-1345 William de Keldersyke

1345-1374 Thomas de Anandale

1374-1423? Stephen de Meburn

At this point there is a gap in the historical records.

1535 - 1563? Richard Scott

1563-1572 Percival Kirkbride; BA (Cambridge).

1572-1578 John Barnes; Canon of Carlisle, (2nd Stall).

1578-1593 Thomas Fairfax; BD (Oxon), Canon of Carlisle, (2nd stall).

1593-1618? Oswald Dykes; M.A (Oxon)

Little confusion here, appears to overlap with Dykes/Hudson.

1607-1618? Gerard Hudson; (Oxon).

1618-1653 Lancelot Dawes; MA (Oxon) DD (Scotland) Prebendary, (1st Stall)

1654-1661 Thomas Fawcett: 'Literatus'

1661-1694 George Theobald; BA (Oxon).

- 1694-1727 Henry Fleming; DD (Oxon)
- 1727-1739 Joshua Burrow; BA (Cambridge)
- 1740-1786 Richard Machel; MA (Oxon)
- 1786-1787 David Roderick; BA (Oxon)
- 1788-1834 Hugh Atkinson
- 1834-1875 Henry Guy; St. Bee's Theological College.
- 1875-1877 Thomas Redmayne Holme; MA (Cambridge).
- 1877-1886 James Hacon; St. Bee's Theological College.
- 1886-1916 Joseph Ingham; MA (Oxon).
- 1916-1926 William Mather; St. Aidan's college.
- 1927-1935 Duncan Barclay Reynolds; MA (Cambridge).
- 1935-1939 Arthur Wallace Neale; St. John's College, Manitoba, Canada.
- 1939-1943 Thomas Rushton Colman; MA (Oxon)
- 1944-1947 Hugh Prince; MA (Oxon)
- 1948-1957 Robert French
- 1957-1959 Frederick Rudolph Mitchell; MA (Dublin)
- 1959-1963 Geoffrey Dennison Hill; L.Th. (London)
- 1963-1968 Ian Hinchcliffe Bowman; 1963 BD (London)
- 1968-1974 Victor Selkirk Harper
- 1974-1980 Walter Edward Robert Wilkinson; (Priest in charge) MA. (St. Andrews) BD (London).
- 1981-1982 Douglas Ambrose Southward; L.Th (St. John's, Nottingham). ALCD (Canon in charge).
- 1982-1989 Richmond Harptree Gurney MA (Oxon) Rector, Canon.

Asby Rectory Sold 1982

1989-1995 J.W. Haywood (Priest in charge)

1995-2006 David C. Wood (Priest in charge) - Based at Crosby Ravensworth.

2006-2009 Anthony Clegg; Canon, (Priest in charge)

During his tenure Asby Parish became part of the 'Heart of Eden Team Ministry'

2006-2010 Sarah Lunn, Team Vicar.

- 2010 Sarah Lunn, Appointed Team Rector for Heart of Eden Group of Parishes 30th May 2010.
- 2010-2012 Richard Henderson, Appointed Team Vicar and a Honorary Assistant Bishop in Carlisle Diocese, 4th March 2011. Resigned and returned to Ireland in November 2012 for personal reasons. He still retains the title of Honorary Assistant Bishop in the Carlisle Diocese.

Appendix Two - Asby Parish and Heart of Eden Curates.:

1646	Thomas Fawcett (Later The Rector)	Rector: Lancelot Dawes.
1767	Gilpin Gorst.	Rector: Richard Machel
1768	William Nichol	-do-
1769	John Earl.	-do-
1770	Edmund Grisedale	-do-
1771	Rowland Bazillar Also Schoolmaster, Asby Endowed School	-do- ool, 12.6.1775 to 5.6.1780
1783	Hugh Atkinson (Later The Rector).	Rector: Richard Machel
1823	Henry Guy (St. Bee's) (Later The Rector). Rector: Hugh Atkinson	